What do you tweet about?

2009NOV111710

“… Where is that from?! And what do you tweet about, mysterious bootload? Lyrics..? And whose? …”

An anonymous reader asked this question.

So I guess I should answer it. It’s pretty harmless and asked out of curiosity, so here it goes. When I first found twitter I had no real idea what it could be used for. Over time I’ve found a number of uses: a reminder to do things; a messaging system (obvious); a question asking tool; a broadcast tool (obvious); a place to add things that sub consciously rise while working. I find well crafted words have impact. I like them because they stick.

Why

Since I live on the open-web, I add anything I want (within reason) to my twitter feed. It doesn’ t have to make any real sense to anyone else but myself. I certainly don’t write stuff for others to read. I write for my own selfish reasons. I use my accounts for work only. There are no images of friends, family or myself. That’s a waste of time. More importantly, it’s boring.

Sound matters

When I’m working I have music going. I choose my music carefully. I mean really carefully. Otherwise you end up years later listening to the drivel that passes for popular music of the time. So if you read my twit account and see lyrics posted it’s probably reflecting what music I’m listening to at the moment.

That’s all, no mystery.

Misc

The original post can be found at 2009MAY092133. The image above was taken in Sydney on 3rd November, 2009 at Circular Quay in the ferry terminal.

“… The idea that something is uncool because it’s old or foreign has left the collective consciousness …” (Brian Eno)

Comment

  • HN

    • A climate scientist who engages skeptics (posted)

    • Why I was tempted to discriminate against women (posted)

      “… I’m trying to figure out why this article is posted, as a UK anti-discrimination bill doesn’t seem to matter much to mostly-US programmers. …”

      Because it’s worth thinking about “why there are so few women in Startups?” Is it really how good a person is as a hacker or entrepreneur that stops someone succeeding? Is the Startup playground as open and equal as you think?

    • Heavy metal (posted)

    • The death of uncool (posted)

    • Proper use of English could get a virus past security (posted)

    • Ask HN: Please review my Twitter dating app 😉

      “… Sticking exclusively with Twitter for now …”

      Great strategy. I noticed @joshu and http://a.tinythread.com use this idea making authentication simple without the login hurdle.

    • A Liberal, Accurate Regex Pattern for Matching URLs

      ^(([^:/?#]+):)?(//([^/?#]))?([^?#])(?([^#]))?(#(.))?

      I found the w3 specs (rfc3987) suitable for my needs ~ http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc3987.txt a nice Regex to parse Url formats. This Regex allows you to extract scheme ($2), authority ($4), path ($5), query ($7) and fragment ($9) ~ http://www.flickr.com/photos/bootload/238916518/

      There are problems I’ve seen with using Regex strings and expecting them to work in all cases on all Regex engines which is why I tend to stick with PCRE ~ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PerlCompatibleRegular_Express… a point in favour of the Gruber example.

      “… The pattern is also liberal about Unicode glyphs within the URL …”

      PCRE supports Unicode but it’s not switched on by default ~ http://www.pcre.org/pcre.trereadxt

    • What should I choose, PhD or startup?

      “… Do you like/agree with my answer ? …”

      Over analysis?

      “… My student is a student of Chemical Engineering. Right now he has the opportunity of developing his own chemical-based business with a good economical prospects. …”

      If you are making “stuff”, unless you are selling the process, the derivative of making “stuff” you will be bound to the old laws of creating a business. In some ways it reminds me more of a hardware Startup. The rules of Software startup rules don’t apply. You (might) need offices, lab space or time, hiring of extra expertise, equipment and the problems of marketing and sales. All this requires cash and a degree of risk higher than a software Startup.

      One question. Does has this new “stuff” got existing or potential customers? Is your “stuff” applicable to a large market commodity or a high cost niche marThe death of uncoolket?

  • Twitter

    • ♬ Didn’t anybody tell her? / Didn’t anybody see? / Sunday’s on the phone to Monday / Tuesday’s on the phone to me ♬ #

    • ♬ In a cap she looked much older / And the bag across her shoulder / Made her look a little like a military man ♬ #

    • ♬ Nothing can come between us / When it gets dark I tow your heart away ♬ #

    • ♬ Fun / fun is the one thing that money can’t buy / Something inside that was always denied ♬ #

    • 390Km in 34 days #

    • yesterday, pt2 1210/1600 #pt 1kg #wt 20x#ex #

    • ♬ I used to get mad at my school / The teachers who taught me weren’t cool / You’re holding me down / Filling me up with your rules ♬ #

Links

History

  • created 2009NOV28

Peter Renshaw Copyright 1994 – 2009 for all text and images using the Creative Commons ‘Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 2.5 Australia’ License.

Leave a Reply

